A Retrospective on Readiness

Yesterday was the 5th and final race in the Honolulu Marathon Readiness Series. Generally I’m a slacker at race reporting. But I realized I have the opportunity to kill 5 birds with one stone, so here goes. Plus, since this is the second time I have run the entire series, I can compare to last year and end up with data from 10 races, all in one little post. So almost like 10 birds? Brilliant.*

Race 1: Tamanaha 15k. I had strep throat, it was a struggle, and there were no pictures. Don’t even ask about the next day’s North Shore Challenge (ok I’ll give you a picture of that). This first race back in August is always hard. Had not done any serious running since Honu. But managed a wee PR, even with a blazing throat. Lesson: Mind over matter. Time: 1:12 (7:45 pace). PR: 1 minute. 
Nschallenge

Quite possibly better running form exiting a whip-lashing wild 2.4 mile ocean swim with strep than in any of these road races? Gotta work on that.

Race 2: Runner’s HI 20k. This race started fast and fun, and ended slow and painfully. Made a mental note to never start running a race with Lectie again (she killed it, 2nd OA ELITE, a trend that would continue). But duh, I had no business running a 7:15 pace that first loop. Positive split to the max, and serious suffering to the finish line. Lesson: You really do die if you go out too fast. Time: 1:35 (7:40 pace). PR: 2 minutes. 
Eliteness
Are you seeing stars? Those are my elite friends.
20k
With Priscilla and Gretchen, who I played musical podium places with most of the series. Thanks for the push, gals.
Race 3: Starn O’Toole Marcus & Fisher 25k. I loved most of this race. Starts wicked early in the dark (love that) and we had just practiced most of the course the weekend before, so I felt confident. Despite missing the start horn, I had a super smooth first 14 miles. At mile 15 of this 15-point-something mile race, a series of cramps in both calves brought me to  screeching halt, twice. Like, lean against a lamppost, stretch and try not to cry, cramping. Times two. One with the happiest little green store in sight (Kalapawai, a whopping 200 meters from the finish line), and another right there in front of the store, with the finish line in sight. Lost a couple minutes. That was my very first experince with cramping in a race, but it would not be my last! Read on! Lesson: I think I need more carbs. Time: 2:05 (8:04 pace). This year was 5 minutes slower but 1 mile longer than last, but I can’t run a 5 minute mile so it must be a PR, right? Totally counting it. Anyway last year’s average pace was 8:08, so there.
25kpractice
25k practice run. Lectie’s flying, Doom’s throwing shakas, Sunny’s cracking jokes, and Kim is marching. Same story, different day.
25kwithdoom

Sweet! Finally snuck into a mid-race picture with Doom (he was 15 minutes late for the start).

Race 4: PF Chang 30k. Was especially excited about this race, as two weeks prior I had my parathyroid surgery, which meant 1) I finally was back to acceptable blood calcium levels and felt HEAPS better, mentally and physically, and 2) surgery requires recovery time (i.e., I couldn’t move my neck), so I had way more rest than normal. And, this was a great course, and a longer distance, so I wasn’t all panicky about starting off at a blazing pace (like I would be in the next race, keep reading!) Despite slight cramping again towards the end, which slowed me down a bit, I felt the very best I had in a running race all year. Biggest difference was the ability to kick it up a notch when I was really tired. Had forgotten what it felt like to engage that extra gear. It feels freaking good! Lesson: Everything’s better in 3’s. Time: 2:28, PR: 10 min.
30k

Stoked about one less parathyroid, and 10 less minutes.

Race 5: Val Nolasco Half Marathon. This was my best race last year. It came as a surprise, I can remember running back down Kalanianaole after the turnaround and feeling fresh and full of energy. One of my only races with a huge negative split. Therefore, I was particularly nervous about yesterday, because I wasn’t sure I could beat last year’s time (1:41). Decided to try and even split the race, starting around a 7:35-7:40 pace and holding it there. It almost worked. Went out a little faster, came home a little slower. Felt a cramp sneaking in towards the end, so started a little chant (to my calf, and Nalani) begging for it to go away. It worked! Lesson(s): Even splitting might work, the sandwich and musubi probably worked, and singing definitely works. Time: 1:40, PR: 1 min. 
Posthalfkaimana
Kaimana smiles post-race.
Alohakeefe

Aloha Keefe!

Overall, feeling good about the marathon in 3 weeks. Would love to PR, which means something less than 3:41. Honestly would be very pleased with 3:40, and naturally would love to get closer to 3:35. I do not feel like I have trained for anything lower. With a little more focus I may have been able to approach 3:30, but not this year. I was deliberately trying not to put too much pressure on myself for Honolulu, as there is still much training and pressure to be had soon enough. Running Boston during the peak of Honu and IMCdA training will be an adventure in itself! For now, grateful to be feeling strong, healthy, and motivated to run a PR marathon, of any margin. 20 more days :)
* No offense to Franzy. He’s an ornithologist. 

1 thought on “A Retrospective on Readiness

  1. Great job putting it all together, Kim! Those are some impressive PRs, and you earned every one! Have a fun Marathon and can’t wait to see what 2012 holds for you.

Penny for your thoughts